Please enable javascript to access the full functionality of this site

Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore – Singapore Government Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore – Singapore Government

Standards & Quality of Service

Standards & Quality of Service

IDA regulates the use of telecommunication equipment in Singapore based on standards that specify the minimum technical requirements for the equipment. We also set and monitor Quality of Service (QoS) to regulate the performance of key services offered by operators, ranging from basic telecom to mobile and Internet access services.

Telecommunication Standards

IDA regulates the use of telecommunication equipment based on Technical Specifications published by IDA. A Technical Specification is a Standard which prescribes the minimum technical requirements to be fulfilled by telecommunication equipment intended for sale and use in Singapore.

IDA also publishes Reference Specifications & Documents which describe the network and network-to-network interface (NNI) standards adopted or yet to be adopted by operators in Singapore. Consistent with the policy of technological neutrality, these NNI standards are for general information of or reference by operators, equipment suppliers and the public.

The Telecommunication Standards Advisory Committee ("TSAC") is formally established to provide IDA with the above telecommunications standards-setting recommendations.

Quality of Service

IDA regulates the performance of key services offered by operators by setting Quality of Service (QoS) and requiring the operators to submit periodic reports of their service quality.

Operators who fail to comply with the telecommunications QoS standards would have to pay a financial penalty ranging from S$5,000 to a maximum of S$50,000 for each instance of non-compliance. IDA will consider all relevant factors such as (i) the extent of impact of the non-compliance; (ii) the cause of the non-compliance, (iii) the efforts taken by the service providers to meet the QoS standards; and/or (iv) any challenges faced by the service providers in meeting the QoS standards. Higher penalties may be imposed for (i) serious failures; and/or (ii) continuing or repeated breaches. For postal QoS, the financial penalty is S$5,000 for each instance of non-compliance with a primary indicator and S$1,000 for each non-compliance with a secondary indicator. Generally, standards which tend to have a wider public impact over longer periods and which can cause major public inconveniences, should there be any failure of compliance, are considered as primary indicators.

IDA regularly reviews the QoS requirements to take into account industry and technology changes, as well as changes in consumer demand, to ensure that the requirements remain relevant.

Quality of Service Reports

IDA monitors the quality of infocomm services provided by service providers, such as basic telecoms, mobile, Internet access and fibre connection services. To find out how service providers are performing, we provide updated Quality of Service (QoS) reports here.

Note: IDA has ceased the publication of QoS reports of paging and trunked radio services with effect from 1 January 2005; and Internet access services with effect from 1 September 2005.

Security Product Assurance

From 15 January 2015, IDA will no longer provide security product certifications under the IDA Security Product Assurance (SPA) programme.

If you are interested in attaining Common Criteria (CC) certification for your product, please approach any one of the CC Certification Bodies listed in this portal:

Was this information useful?

Was this information useful?
Was this information useful?